Sunday, July 17, 2005

Stage 15 - Tour de France

Lézat-sur-Leze to St-Lary Soulan, originally uploaded by mightymerk.

A remarkable Tour for the Americans!!!

For those following my commentary, you may remember a few posts back how I mentioned that it was possible that an American would hold the Yellow Jersey for every stage of the Tour for the first time in Tour history. In large part due to an incredible ride by Jens Voigt back in Stage 10 , this possibility was removed and Jens took the Yellow Jersey for a day.

It still should be noted that American cyclist are having an incredible Tour, further illustrated by George Hincapie's Stage 15 victory today!! Hincapie outsprinted Oscar Pereiro sio. Both riders were the only riders to lead at the end of an initial 14 man break-away. It was an emotional day for Hincapie and Lance Armstrong it was exactly 10 years ago today that former teammate Fabio Casartelli lost his life on the same stage after a crash.

3 Americans are now in the Top 10 of the General Classification: Lance Armstrong in 1st, Levi Leipheimer in 6th (7'35") and Floyd Landis (9'33") in 7th.

Today's stage was particularly brutal and there were some changes to the general classification, most notably that Ivan Basso, wo stayed pedal to pedal with Lance today, moved into 2nd place ahead of Mickael Rasmussen.

The overall general classification looks like this:

1. Lance Armstrong (USA) DSC - 2,645.5km in 62h09’59" (42.309km/h)
2. Ivan Basso (Italy) CSC - at 2’46"
3. Mickael Rasmussen (Denmark) RAB - at 3’09"
4. Jan Ullrich (Germany) TMO - at 5’58"
5. Francisco Mancebo (Spain) IBA - at 6’31"
6. Levi Leipheimer (USA) GST - at 7’35"
7. Floyd Landis (USA) PHO - at 9’33"
8. Alexandre Vinokourov (Kazakstahn) TMO at 9’38"
9. Christophe Moreau (France) C.A - at 11’47"
10. Andreas Kloden (Germany) TMO - at 12’01"

The final results for Stage 15 are:

1. George Hincapie (USA) DSC - 205.5km in 6h’06’38" (33.63km/h)
2. Oscar Pereiro Sio (Spain) PHO - at 06"
3. Pietro Caucchioli (Italy) C.A - at 38"
4. Michael Boogerd (Netherlands) RAB - at 57"
5. Laurent Brochard (France) BTL - at 2’19"
6. Ivan Basso (Italy) CSC - at 5’04"
7. Lance Armstrong (USA) DSC - at 5’04"
8. Oscar Sevilla (Spain) TMO - at 6’28"
9. Jan Ullrich (Ger) TMO - at 6’28"
10. Mickael Rasmussen (Denmark) RAB - at 6’32" 17:25 -

Posted by mightymerk, 8:47 AM


Post a Comment

<< Home